You vs You vs AI

+ the Ancient Ghostwriter Prompt

Last week I got the most replies I’ve ever had to an email.

This leads me to believe that you all like a mix of personal content and AI content. For all the AI fans, don’t worry—I have a ton of stuff coming in the next few weeks….

Including some stuff next week…

Today, though, I want to talk a little bit about my struggle to finish my first paid product, a course.

I’m creating a master guide on how to “Write with AI and Crush LinkedIn,” and it’s been tough for me.

(here’s a little sneak preview of a draft that I’m working on)

I am looking forward to sharing it with all of you, but like I said, it’s been a struggle to finish.

So why?

Is it imposter syndrome? Nah, I’m super arrogant.
Is it fear of failure? Nah, I fail more than most.
Is it, is it, is it, is it….

Simply put, I’ve been battling with myself.

For those that don’t know me well, I’m Luke, and I’m 39 and I’ve been building a personal brand on LinkedIn since late 2019. That’s over 4+ years of building brands on LinkedIn and being obsessed with growth on the platform.

I started tinkering with AI early last year, and after using it on my ghostwriting clients for 6 months, I decided to start posting my strategies on LinkedIn.

(thus why you are here on this newsletter)

But there’s another layer to my LinkedIn journey.

I was banned 7x. The final ban, I got a warning from LinkedIn that basically said clean up your act, or your account is gone.

This happened in February 2023 and I actually quit the platform for a few months.

I had built my brand by being unhinged…

I was the guy who would say anything and everything and pick a fight with anyone and everyone.

I did live streams drunk from the Scottish highlands, slept in a warehouse, roamed around the UK in my campervan, battled alcohol addiction, and, well, was a walking disaster.

Me during an attempt to quit booze

Yet somehow, I still managed to build and school my ghostwriting business.

I hosted meme battles, gave away pizzas, dissed influencers, and got banned for speaking about COVID-19.

Anyway, on May 1st, 2023, I decided to clean up my act.

I quit alcohol and decided that I was going to be a boring drone and behave on LinkedIn, and I’ve done that.

0 bans since. All business.

So why am I sharing all of this with you?

THE COURSE and why I am struggling to finish it….

My friend Lara told me today: “its not the course, it’s you, you’re conflicted with who you are. Old Luke and New Luke is the same person. Just be you.”

And you know what that stuck with me all day….

I’ve been going through a journey of change for healing for the past 2 years now. It’s been difficult.

Even at 39, I ask myself, Who is Luke?

So when she said that, I realized that’s why I’ve been struggling with the course.

I keep trying to fit a box and either be a super nerdy AI guy OR super unhinged, say whatever comes to mind, guy, and…

The answer is I’m both of those guys.

I just gotta let it flow and ride the vibes.

So I did and pounded out a few chapters tonight, and well, we are shipping!

I'm not sure you tracked all that with me, but thanks for reading if you did.

If you have any questions about my upcoming “Write with AI and Crush LinkedIn,” course feel free to reply to this email and I will answer every one of you.

Cheers!

🤖 Prompt of the Week

Introducing the “ancient ghostwriter prompt” which is just me getting bored and making up a funny name for it.

Anyway, this prompt is awesome because it combines some elite writers with some modern-day marketers.

First, go to ChatGPT and then use this…

𝑷𝒓𝒐𝒎𝒑𝒕:

Please think and act as an experienced writer and storyteller who is a unique combination of Walt Disney's and C.S. Lewis's personalities and writing styles with Gary Vaynerchuk's social media marketing knowledge and skills. You have 30 years of experience telling stories in a way that captures the hearts of audiences and makes it easy for them to understand and emotionally respond to your words.

Your task is to write a LinkedIn post that will go viral, meaning over 1,000 likes. In order to do this, you need to write a post for the following business owner in their tone of voice and personality: (𝐼𝑛𝑠𝑒𝑟𝑡 𝑖𝑛𝑓𝑜𝑟𝑚𝑎𝑡𝑖𝑜𝑛 ℎ𝑒𝑟𝑒 𝑎𝑏𝑜𝑢𝑡 𝑦𝑜𝑢𝑟 𝑐𝑙𝑖𝑒𝑛𝑡𝑠 𝑝𝑒𝑟𝑠𝑜𝑛𝑎𝑙 𝑏𝑟𝑎𝑛𝑑 𝑎𝑛𝑑 ℎ𝑖𝑠/ℎ𝑒𝑟 𝑏𝑢𝑠𝑖𝑛𝑒𝑠𝑠)

Please do not include the business owner's name in the new post. I want you to give me a new post based on the blog post that I share with you. Please make the new post with the thought leadership of Sahil Bloom and the short and concise formatting, sentence structure, and copywriting skills of LinkedIn ghostwriter Justin Welsh.

Your words are short and concise, your sentences do not exceed 16 words, and you now specialize in LinkedIn marketing. Please make sure this post is at least 500 characters. I want you to also switch up the formatting so it's easy to read with lots of space. Please make sure the post has a bulleted listicle in it.

Please use the following 3 posts as examples for formatting, but do not use any of the topics from these posts to create the new post I've asked you to write: (𝐼𝑛𝑠𝑒𝑟𝑡 3 𝑑𝑖𝑓𝑓𝑒𝑟𝑒𝑛𝑡 𝑡𝑦𝑝𝑒𝑠 𝑜𝑓 𝑓𝑜𝑟𝑚𝑎𝑡𝑡𝑒𝑑 𝑝𝑜𝑠𝑡𝑠 ℎ𝑒𝑟𝑒)

Please take your time and think about what you write carefully, and make sure every word is captivating and precise.

Be sure to use no hashtags, and make sure the posts follow this opening format:

A bold statement that is no more than 8 words in sentence one.

A sentence that starts with the word "but" and then a counterpoint to sentence one.

A short statement beginning with "How to" and then a number included in sentence 3.

Here is the information to analyze: (𝘊𝘰𝘱𝘺/𝘗𝘢𝘴𝘵𝘦 𝘢 𝘣𝘭𝘰𝘨 𝘱𝘰𝘴𝘵 ℎ𝑒𝑟𝑒)

🤖 How to WIN on LinkedIn with WHAM

Jack is one of the funniest guys on LinkedIn and this interview was a fun one. He caught me off guard with some great questions.

That’s it for this week.

I think I’ll get back to listening to lofi while staring at my wall.

How about you?

Cheers,
Luke

Join the conversation

or to participate.